Autism Awareness

April is Autism Awareness Month. The CDC released the new number of 1 in 68 children as having ASD. Back in 2006 the numbers were 1 in 110 so Autism prevalence is rising. New research suggest that Autism starts with changes in the brain during fetal development. My child is diagnosed with ASD so I strongly stress the importance of early intervention. Become aware and “light it up blue.” April 2nd is World Autism Awareness Day. Show your support and as always, the families affected with Autism appreciate it.

Below are the links through Autism Speaks for more information. Thank you!

Prevalence of Autism Rises

Autism and Prenatal Development

Autism’s Rising Prevalence: What Do The Numbers Mean?

Ways to Give / Autism Speaks

 

Autism_awareness

 

 

About Lisa Malabanan

I am a graduate of Rutgers College of Nursing and work as a Professional Registered Nurse in the field of Perinatology. I currently live in the Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania with my husband and two children. At the age of six, I discovered piano and classical music. A variety of music genres influenced my life through the years, and I’m passing on a love of the arts to my daughter and son. Reading fiction is my escape from the chaos and stress of a demanding yet rewarding profession. For me, writing transcends the diversion of a good book. The experience is like commuting on a New York City subway; diverse people enter and exit the scene, sometimes delays and derailment occur during creativity, and a train of thought is missed or passed over on occasion. In the end, an arrival at my destination is what I hope to accomplish, and I invite readers to take that ride with me. View all posts by Lisa Malabanan

2 responses to “Autism Awareness

  • lisafobia

    1 in 68 is an unbelievable number. The positive side of this news is that global action must finally be taken to offer better service to ASD and their families. Just last week Canadian news reported the case of an adult patient affected by ASD, his family could not take care of him at home so he was kept in hospital for weeks, sedated and under guard control, costing 4000$ a day to the community. Lisa, could you clarify how can I support the 2nd April initiative?

    Like

    • Lisa Malabanan

      Hello! Thanks for your concern on this global issue. I agree that worldwide communities and governments should take action in promoting autism awareness, and providing the funds and resources for families affected with autism. Laws and Policies should change in order to do more research, and better treat those individuals affected with ASD that is both affordable and accessible.
      I provided the link to the Autism Speaks website. It will give you more information about this disorder, and ways to show your support.
      Thank you so much for caring!

      Like

Leave a Reply

